#PeakBagging

I learned about this cool new app on my non-dumb phone the other day.  It’s called Instagram.  And the cool thing is, you can put hashtags in front phrases and see what pictures other people are putting up.  It’s a really cool app, and you guys should really check it out.  Now that I’ve filled you all in on what hashtags are about, #letsgetthispartystarted!

I’ve shelved cycling for the time being.  And after commuting to work via my steeds for almost 6 years, I’ve put the colt in the stable for the winter.  No, I didn’t take him out back and shoot him.  But, I am taking a break.  Mainly because it almost doubles the time I spend commuting. #commutingsucks

And I’ve got these fair lasses waiting for me when I get home.

Hazel & Olive-0490

They’re usually smiley.

I also wanted to make time to do some other things in my hobby quiver – namely mountaineering/climbing/skimo.  Oh, and yoga.

This summer, I bagged around 15 fourteeners (peaks over 14,000′ elevation above sea level).  I’ve done about 20 of the 58 named peaks in Colorado.

Selfie after soloing the "Bell's Traverse" (North to South).

Selfie after soloing the “Bell’s Traverse” (North to South).

Selfie straddling the summit block on Sunlight Peak in the San Juans.

Selfie straddling the summit block on Sunlight Peak in the San Juans.

After an almost 5 year hiatus, I’ve gotten back into rock climbing as well. It started last winter as a way to workout during the short and cold winter days at a local climbing gym. I managed to climb outside a couple times this summer and am falling back in love with the sport I thought I would never again do.

My climbing partner leading the "4th pitch" of the Bastille Crack in Eldorado Canyon

My climbing partner leading the “4th pitch” of the Bastille Crack in Eldorado Canyon

So, hopefully we all have an excellent winter, and an even better 2015 summer! #staycool

Leave a Reply

