Recovery Smoothie

Ingredients Pre-Blending

Ingredients Pre-Blending

In my eternal efforts to lose weight I’m always on a quest for foods which fill me up, but keep me from binge eating.  Binge eating is my downfall.  I burn 4,000 to 5,000 calories at a minimum on a brevet and one of my problems is I translate my license to consume calories during a ride to the following weeks.

I’ve come up with a nice “recovery smoothie,” which is relatively healthy.

  • 1.5 cups Sweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • 2 Bananas (the more ripe the better)
  • 1 Scoop Vanilla Protein Powder
  • Cinnamon
  • 4 cups Baby Kale

I also add strawberries and other fresh fruit as we have it around – usually dropping a banana.  The recipe above comes in just under 400 calories and yields about 28-30 ozs.  On not as intense days, I cut it in half (but keep the scoop of protein powder the same).

Either way, it is very delicious.

Of course, everything needs to be taken in moderation….smoothies don’t just make you skinny.

Everything Blended Together

Everything Blended Together

The Pour...mmmmm

The Pour…mmmmm

One response to “Recovery Smoothie

Leave a Reply

