Willard Bay 100k

Saturday was the first brevet of the season for the Salt Lake Randos.  Of course, I “wimped” out and only did the 100k.  It started out as a rainy morning, with surprisingly little wind.  The start was at 9am, which is late in my opinion.

Right out of the gate I had a bike malfunction – my chain fell off.  Not like wrapped around my bottom bracket, but was on the ground.  I didn’t get my Sram link closed all the way, so luckily all I had to do was put it back on and make sure the link was connected.  I was hoping to ride with the “big boys” on this one and that hope washed away as I took a few minutes to get everything put back together.

9 of us started, 6 were doing the 200k and 3 of us were doing the 100k.  I quickly caught the other 100k riders and one of the 200k riders.  I looked ahead and I was surprised to still see the main group ahead.  Digging in, I caught them after about 3 or 4 miles.  For some reason, they were going really slow.  I jumped ahead to chat with our fearless RBA Richard.

About 20 miles in, the wind started to pick up and not in the direction that we would have liked.  I dug in and brought the pace up a bit.  Since we live in the desert, no one had fenders but me (I was on my commuting rig, the Mountain Goat) and drafting included a faceful of tire spray.

We eventually stumbled into the control, and my turn around point.  I ran in to use the bathroom first, and grab a chocolate milk.  I visited and drank my milk for a few minutes.  Richard invited me to join them for the 200k, but I had already given my wife a time to expect me – and a honey do list was waiting for my return.  Richard then offered to call my wife for me, but I figured it wise to stick to the original plan.

I was then about to leave when someone mentioned they were turning around as well.  I waited a few more minutes and then we agreed to hit the road.  My trusty steed was summoned and the front tire had a flat – durdy goat head.  I’m not sure if I pinched the tube putting it back on, or if I just neglected to fix it beforehand, but the “new” tube needed to be repaired.  So, I took it all off again and had to patch it – it was the last patch in my kit (yikes!).  All in all, a horrible control time, over 40 minutes.

We finally hit the road for the return trip with everything buttoned up.  We had a slight tailwind for a little bit, and then the wind changed on us.  It was mostly a cross wind, which always feels to be working against you.  I enjoyed the company, and our pace probably suffered a bit, but the conversation was great.  Roughly less than 2 hours later, we reached Wally World and the end of the ride.

One thing I am happy about is my splits were about even.  Meaning, the time to complete the first half was roughly the same as the time to complete the second half.  On an out and back route, this is how you want your splits.  Typically, the longer the distance, the farther the splits get.  For instance, the first half of the ride may claim 1/3 of the time.  The second half will take 2/3.  So, as I build distance, I want to try and keep my splits even.

I wore my new heart rate monitor strap, but for some reason it wasn’t reading.  Which is a bummer, but I hope to monitor my heart rate in the future and allow it to help me train a bit better as well.

Strava Data Here.

Leave a Reply

