Shimergo Conversion – Avid BB7 Disc Brakes

I recently overhauled the handlebars on my commuter with a “drop” type bar, “road” disc brakes and campagnolo ergo “brifters” (on my shimano drivetrain).  Below are the series of posts covering this.

  1. What is Shimergo?
  2. Luxy Handlebars
  3. Avid BB7 Road Brakes
  4. Campagnolo Veloce 10 spd Powershift Ergos
  5. Final Thoughts – 1000 miles

 

One of troubles I had when going with a drop bar was I wanted to get road levers.  And the issue then became how to make it work with my current disc brakes, which are setup for MTB brake levers or “V-brakes.”  The problem is the pull ratios and the V-brakes will pull more cable than their counterpart road levers.  They do make V-brake road levers, but I was wanting to tryout a “brifter” setup, my first ever.  Besides, who doesn’t want to upgrade components on their bike?  I know I had been longing for new brakes, as the Tektro Novela brakes (which Tektro seems to only sell to as OEM) I had were finicky and needed constant attention.

IMG_0406

With a fair amount of research, I landed on Avid BB7 mechanical brakes to be highly regarded.  With the main benefit being it allows one to adjust BOTH brake pads.  So, as the pads wear you can adjust them easily without loosening bolts, shoving a business card between brake pad and rotor, squeezing brake, retightening bolts and then adjusting the inside brake pad.  Instead, you just move each brake pad in or out until you are happy.  Tres easy.

Outside of Avid BB7 brakes.  Red knob adjusts outer brake pad.

Outside of Avid BB7 brakes. Red knob adjusts outer brake pad.

Inside of Avid BB7 brakes.  Red knob adjusts inside brake pad.  Can use T5 torx key (comes with brakes) to turn.

Inside of Avid BB7 brakes. Red knob adjusts inside brake pad. Can use T5 torx key (comes with brakes) to turn.

I picked each brake up from Jenson USA for under $50.  Each box came with a brake, a rotor, an inline adjuster, 2 mounting brackets for front & rear 51 mm IS brake tabs, all hardware, a T5 torx key and a sticker.

So far, the brakes are great, powerful and a breeze to adjust.  Just what I wanted!

Leave a Reply

