Skyline Dr

We have been having some unfortunate weather (for my skiing).  It turns out, this unfortunate skiing weather is excellent cycling weather.  I am wanting to do a Skyline Dr Gravel Grinder perm, so I figured I would scope it out.  I actually need an information control at the top, but I didn’t quite make it that far.  Riding in the snow and mud got old really fast, and with the new bundle of joy at home, and I turned my wagon around prematurely.

I went back and forth on which bike to use, and when it was settled on the Mountain Goat, I debated changing the tires from my studded snow tires to “normal” tires.  Out of laziness I left the studded tires on the bike and decided to risk loosing a stud or two.  Turns out it was a good idea, as a guy on a dirt bike showed me the icy spots as he laid his motorized bike down over a patch of ice.

Up towards the top, the entire road was covered with slushy snow, which made riding very difficult.  My strokes were inefficient and I could feel my rear tire slipping.  After a 1/4 mile or so of the snow, I decided to have the gross and very old “protien bar” I grabbed from the mix bag of gross and very old energy bars we have.  I choked about half of it down wishing I had some saltines and peanut butter.  But, I was tired, so I entered the descent.

The descent didn’t go as fast as I had hoped, but it was still fun.  I need to secure my fender to my chainstay bridge a little better, as I had to stop twice to adjust that.  Also, there must be some super cool way to get down besides that road, because tons of lazies were hauling their pimped out dual suspension bikes up in their car.

Ride Details here.

One response to “Skyline Dr

Leave a comment